Four Shaler commissioners receive award for combined 106 years of service

Friday, July 26, 2019 | 12:01 AM

Shaler commissioner Thomas McElhone recently recognized his four fellow commissioners, on behalf of the Allegheny County & Western Pennsylvania Association of Township Commissioners (AC&WPATC), for their combined 106 years of local government service.

McElhone, AC&WPATC’s second vice chairman, presented plaques during the July commissioners meeting to the following Shaler board members: James Boyle, who has served 28 years; Susan Fisher, 20 years; and board of commissioners President David Shutter, 32 years. Vice President William Cross, who has served 24 years, was absent from the meeting.

The Allegheny League of Municipalities oversees the AC&WPATC. The nonprofit league aims to foster local government “by educating elected officials, delivering essential resources and advocating for sound policy and legislation.”